Posted in Running

10K Plan. Workout 1 of 61.

I promised myself that when my coursework was done, I would start running again. I have had so much going on in my life, I quite literally have not been able to dedicate the time to running, even after purchasing a treadmill. I am not one for excuses though, so I am just putting it out there and moving on. I finished my last assignment of my undergrad degree this past Sunday, and so I set up a fresh goal in my RunKeeper app. I decided to go for the last comfortable distance I was at when I stopped running, which was about 5-6 miles typically. I signed up for the sub 60 minute 10k plan.

This past Saturday, my husband bought me a new pair of Mizunos since my pair had pretty much worn out. I was thankful, but for some reason it gave me a small level of anxiety knowing I needed to use them now that I had them. I suppose that anxiety was a great motivator! I failed my physical fitness test with the Air Force last month, which had never happened to me before. It was embarrassing and also a big wake-up call. I had never before experienced my body fail to do what I wanted it to do. But as I lifted myself up off the mat for sit-ups, and I felt my soft belly in between my thighs and my chest–I knew I was in trouble.

With all of that behind me now as well as coursework, I can focus some more of my energy on running again. The best thing is having my husband’s support. He called me up today to ask if I could get the baby from daycare so she didn’t have to wait for him to be done with his appointment. When I told him I was planning on running before leaving the base, he immediately changed back to picking the baby up so that I would have time to run. I appreciate that–him–so much.

It was the most beautiful evening when I crossed the street over to the track that I used to run all the time. I do miss this part of my old job–being given 3 hours of every workweek to exercise. It helped a lot, and I wish more employers saw the value in affording their employees time for fitness. Anywho…

One foot in front of the other. I didn’t know how well I would do. My body is much heavier than it was a couple of years ago, which makes it harder for my ankles and knees to carry me along. Thankfully, I did have those new sneaks, and they did a great job of absorbing the shock. I just had to carry these bones around the track about 4 times to make it two miles. I wasn’t quite to a mile and a half when I started talking myself out of finishing. But I finished that third lap and I pushed myself on, watching only the little bit of road just in front of me instead of looking out at what I had left. In my head I kept telling myself that it was OK that I wasn’t running fast–I was running. And eventually I would make it to goal. And I did.

Two miles. Done. Not a great time

1 of 61

Next time will hopefully be an improvement!

Leave a Reply

